top of page

Almost ready to move in, but first I need water...

My house was now firmly in its new location and ready for me to move in. But before that date, there were a couple of logistics to attend to.


The most important was ensuring I had a water supply and could safely dispose of the waste water. Since my toilet is a composting model, I only had to deal with water from the shower, sinks and washing machine. This waste water is called grey water, as opposed to water from toilets, which is called black water.


In our contract my landowner had agreed to supply water from the tank on the property. But disposing of grey water was to be my responsibility.


Although grey water is relatively free of substances hazardous to human health, and can be recycled to supply a garden or even household needs, it’s worth considering the impact on the environment of any substance flushed down with the water. In my case, I have been using the most environmentally friendly soaps and detergents for many years, so I felt confident in setting up a grey water system that would drain onto the land.


Finding a grey water system


My research turned up many possibilities. I immediately rejected the option of a reed bed, as not appropriate for my situation. I wanted something that was potentially portable in case I need to move again.

Off Grid Collective system for grey water disposal
Off Grid Collective grey water system

After some internet “digging” I decided on an off-the-shelf grey water system from the Off Grid Collective. They have experience in this area and were very willing to answer my questions.






The system has three chambers with access lids for inspection (see image of plumber below). This allows the incoming grey water time to cool to allow fats and grease to separate, and to slow the flow to allow solids to settle to the bottom of one of three baffle chambers.



The water then flows through an inspection/distribution box out through slotted pipes into the biologically active upper parts of the soil where microbes break down the organics and completely treat the water. The pipes are also vented at the end to enhance aerobic decomposition.



While waiting for the system to be delivered, the next task was to find a plumber to install it. When I don’t know any suppliers I tend to choose intuitively, and I was immediately drawn to a plumber calling his business The Helpful Plumber. It was a good choice as he was available right away and was able to complete the work over a couple of days.


Ben, The Helpful Plumber digging the grey water system
Ben, The Helpful Plumber

Preparations for moving in


I used the waiting time for these connections to be completed to pay regular visits to the house and bring various belongings each time. By the time I moved in, I had most of my kitchen unpacked and stowed away, as well as many of my clothes. This made the initial moving-in day much less stressful, as I could make a simple meal right from the start.



Gas, water connection to tiny house
Gas and water connections

The other essential pre move-in task was sourcing the necessary gas bottles and connecting them – a straight-forward task. I also hired a storage unit in the nearby town. Even though I had spent much time already downsizing, somehow there was, and is still, lots more items that need sorting, either for me to find a place in my tiny, or to donate to a charity.


I was finally ready to move in just a week before my birthday in late April. Getting settled in my new home was the perfect birthday present. And right from that very first night I knew I had come home at last.

Комментарии


Glenys_apr2017_small.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Hello, I'm Glenys. I am passionate about health, healing and sustainable ways for living a life full of vitality and purpose.

 

You can find out more about me and my work at In the Zone Healing.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page