top of page

Reflections on my first year - part one

I have now been "living tiny" for over a year now.

So… what have I learnt? What have been the challenges? How has my life changed as a result of living tiny? And how am I going after a year?


Glenys standing outside her tiny house

Changes to my lifestyle

I have lived in small houses and apartments before, and adjusting to the space has been relatively easy. The house feels very cosy to me, and even on the very wet days when it’s unpleasant to set foot outside, I don’t feel cramped. I have developed a routine during my days here. A typical day at home looks something like this…


yoga mat in tiny house living area

I practise yoga first thing downstairs in the living space and then meditation upstairs in front of my altar. After breakfast I usually spend time working on the computer.

coffee and books on outdoor table, Glenys' reading time

Lunch may be eaten inside at the breakfast bar or outside on the deck, depending on weather, after which I enjoy a coffee and catch up on reading one of my many books. The afternoons vary according to work requirements, but the day may include some exercise – walking or cycling.


Relaxation space in tiny house loft
Relaxation space

After dinner I mostly retire upstairs to relax, and either read or watch TV or a movie.


I downsized most of my personal belongings reasonably well prior to moving in. These included kitchen appliances and utensils, clothing and bedding, and books and music, all of which now fit tidily in their appointed storage spaces. I have retained some sports and camping gear, which I store in the garden shed, along with necessary gardening items and tools.


Storing all my business items and related paperwork has proved the biggest challenge. Ideally, everything should find a home in the tiny house. In reality, a number of items, especially the massage table, are still located in a storage unit in the nearby town. Initially, many other personal items and pieces of furniture were stored there. Over the course of the year, I have managed to give away or sell a large number of these items, and have considerably downsized the storage unit, thereby also reducing costs.


The biggest lifestyle changes

There are two big day-to-day changes to my way of living: monitoring the solar system and dealing with the compost toilet. These are, of course, not specific to tiny house living, but to off-grid living.


Over the summer months the longer days in which sunlight can be captured and stored (potentially up to 9 hours) means that I don’t have to worry about running out of power. The appliance that uses most power is my washing machine, and I found that over summer I could wash even on the rainy days, if necessary, as the system would quickly recharge.


The short winter days are another story, with only a maximum of 5 hours of sunlight. Over the last two months I have been carefully monitoring my solar collection and storage daily. I have to plan washing days to ensure there will be sufficient sun to top up the batteries afterwards. On the plus side I am pleased to note that even on very dull and cloudy days I can still collect enough energy to cover minimal daily use. Of course, the shorter days also mean more power is required mornings and evenings just for lighting!


Sun Mar compost toilet in tiny house
Sun Mar compost toilet

The other big change is the compost toilet, and this like the solar system has been a big learning curve. It’s no longer a simple use and flush away, never to think about again. Instead, I have to add enzymes and bulking agent with each use. In addition, I have to monitor how often it needs emptying, which works out to approximately once a month.


The contents are composted in a specially designated compost bin, to which I add leaves, small branches and other organic matter to provide a balanced composting medium. I have been told that once the compost pile has “aged” for a year or so, it’s safe to put around fruit trees or ornamental plants.



The novelties of tiny house living

Perhaps the most fun aspect of tiny house living is its novelty. My house has attracted a lot of interest and curiosity from friends and neighbours, and I've become used to people driving past who slow down to take a longer look.

Glenys sitting on tiny house deck
Glenys enjoying sunshine on her deck

I love to host visitors and I welcome anyone who wants to check out the house and lifestyle. Most people are curious about how storage of household items is organised, and they are generally impressed with how tiny house living doesn’t mean compromising on modern appliances.


Tiny house living has attracted interest from various media channels. I enjoyed a visit from a photographer representing a US tiny house Youtube channel, Tiny Home Tours. After the interview we sat down and shared experiences of tiny house living and travel.


I was also interviewed by local print and online media organisation, Stuff. Initially, I was told my story would be posted online, and I was surprised and delighted when friends from around New Zealand told me they had read the article in their local newspaper.

1 Comment


shanta.mag
Aug 26

Loved reading this Glenys. Hope you are safe as houses. Sounds like life is treating you well. One day love to visit. Take care and live your best life.

Like
Glenys_apr2017_small.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Hello, I'm Glenys. I am passionate about health, healing and sustainable ways for living a life full of vitality and purpose.

 

You can find out more about me and my work at In the Zone Healing.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page